Newbie: Benefits of Inkscape?

General discussion about Inkscape
Verleen

Newbie: Benefits of Inkscape?

Post by Verleen »

Hi, I'm new to digital scrapbooking. I am not technically proficient and can use only very user friendly software. I have Adobe Photoshop Elements and do very little with it, picture formatting stuff, repairing, creating png files from jpeg files, etc. The layers thing is way beyond me. The Wacom pen and tablet were way beyond me. I would like to learn how to make my own digital embellishments for digital scrapbooking, but without having a nervous breakdown. :lol: I am considering getting SCAL and Inkscape, but worried I would be buying more software that I cannot use.

So my questions re Inkscape are this:

How user friendly is it for a digital idiot?
What can it do that Elements can't?
Can I be happy with just SCAL and just cut out images on my Cricut?

Thank you for taking time and having patience with this grandma, Verleen
Deloris

Re: Newbie: Benefits of Inkscape?

Post by Deloris »

Inkscape is NOT a user friendly program. It took me at least 2 months of working with it daily to get the hang of tracing images, breaking them apart, cleaning up nodes, finding out the various features like path/union etc. I am very computer literate and it was a real challenge for me.

SCAL2 is a wonderful program and you do not need Inkscape to use it. There are tons of files right here on the Craft Edge site that are all ready to cut so if you don't want to deal with Inkscape, you would not need to.

But, like any other software SCAL2 has a learning curve. It is easy to learn to open and cut the SCUT files on this site, or import and cut a SVG file, but takes a little more time to learn the trace, break apart and to use the layering or page features. Once you do learn how it works, it is a fantastic program. I use it all the time. It's very addictive. :D

Here's a link to video that demos SCAL. Will give you a bit better idea of how it works: