eclips is not cutting

SCAL for the Sizzix eclips
veramilo

eclips is not cutting

Post by veramilo »

I have the latest eCal update (1.007) and just installed a new blade. I tried to cut construction paper using the presets. The eclips goes through all the motions of cutting and scoring, but when it finishes and I peel the paper from the mat, there are no cuts at all. There aren't even any scratches on the surface of the paper. It's as if the blade is not coming in contact with the paper. Since this is the first time I replaced the blade, I double-checked the instruction manual to see if I did it correctly, and I did.

I've been using my eclips with eCal for several months with no problems at all (or none that I couldn't solve). This is the first time I've done any cutting since installing the update so I wondered if there might be an issue with that. I THINK I did some cutting after installing the 1.005 update a couple weeks ago, which was when I noticed that my blade was getting dull so I was waiting for the new blades to arrive. I'm tempted to reinstall to an older version. Bad idea?

I desperately need a suggestion for what I might have missed or what I could try. I'm in the midst of a big project that I really need to get done!

Thank you!

(My OS is Mac 10.5.8)
mitsim
Location: SoCal (Windows 7, Eclips1, ECAL 1.500, Photoshop, Illustrator

Re: eclips is not cutting

Post by mitsim »

I've updated to 1.007, and have cut many things just fine. So, I'm not sure what's going on with yours. Did you, per chance, change the blade? A friend got a new machine and it wasn't cutting, so she tried a different blade, and it worked fine (the other was a bad blade). Then, I'd check to see if the blade housing mechanism is in correctly and tightened down. Then, maybe clean the sensor on the left back of the machine, as if that gets dirty, it may malfunction. If all else fails, I'd call or email sizzix and see if they have any other suggestions. Good luck!
veramilo