Craft Edge

Sure Cuts A Lot Forum
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:03 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:16 am
Posts: 3911
Location: Michigan, SCAL1; SCAL2; eCAL; Windows7 64 bit; eCAL Mavericks
I would like to have registration marks that don't waste more paper than Silhouette Studio uses (less waste would be even better, but the same would work). Would also like to have the option to have them visible on the virtual mat when I'm working on a file like SS does to make it easier to position the images/cutting lines.

_________________
My blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:39 am 

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:39 am
Posts: 3908
Hello Heather!

It's good to see your post.

_________________
Todd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:33 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:08 pm
Posts: 4397
Location: CALIFORNIA
I've have used this tut a couple of times since I can show regmarks in inkscape. Give it a go and let us know if it works for you.

http://craftedge.com/tutorials/import_r ... gmarks.php

_________________
Susan E
http://creationsbypapasue.blogspot.com
LEARN, GROW, CREATE, SHARE


Mac 10.12.6 Sierra, eCAL 1.506, ECAL2.023, SCAL4Pro, Export Plug-in, Inkscape 48, iPad/scal3
eClips2.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:39 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:16 am
Posts: 3911
Location: Michigan, SCAL1; SCAL2; eCAL; Windows7 64 bit; eCAL Mavericks
Hi Todd and Susan. Thanks for the link Susan, but it wouldn't work for me with Inkscape and either eCAL (original, not 2) or SCAL4. Not sure if it would force the registration marks closer to my digis or if it would use the default settings anyway. I don't have AI on this computer to see if that makes a difference.

_________________
My blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:47 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:08 pm
Posts: 4397
Location: CALIFORNIA
it works for me. Working in ecal only I made the outline/shadow the regmark Instead of using a rectangle and did better.Printed from ecal and got the reg marks showing. Does that make sense? I am attaching my ecal file, turn off the text and you can print the snowman with reg marks that my eclips recognizes.[

attachment=0]reposition regmark.scut4[/attachment]


Attachments:
reposition regmark.scut4 [1.04 MiB]
Downloaded 57 times

_________________
Susan E
http://creationsbypapasue.blogspot.com
LEARN, GROW, CREATE, SHARE


Mac 10.12.6 Sierra, eCAL 1.506, ECAL2.023, SCAL4Pro, Export Plug-in, Inkscape 48, iPad/scal3
eClips2.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:46 pm 

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:16 am
Posts: 3911
Location: Michigan, SCAL1; SCAL2; eCAL; Windows7 64 bit; eCAL Mavericks
Susan, When I open your file in eCAL and SCAL4 (demo version) I get the standard registration marks around everything, including your text, not just around the snowman.

_________________
My blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:01 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:08 pm
Posts: 4397
Location: CALIFORNIA
Heather, Oops .... I forgot to say that you have to turn off the txt layers in the layers panel in this file.

_________________
Susan E
http://creationsbypapasue.blogspot.com
LEARN, GROW, CREATE, SHARE


Mac 10.12.6 Sierra, eCAL 1.506, ECAL2.023, SCAL4Pro, Export Plug-in, Inkscape 48, iPad/scal3
eClips2.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:51 am 

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:16 am
Posts: 3911
Location: Michigan, SCAL1; SCAL2; eCAL; Windows7 64 bit; eCAL Mavericks
Susan, It still doesn't work. The registration marks are outside the shape where they always are, not on the corners of the REGMARK layer.

I need the registration marks to be closer to the cutting lines, otherwise I'm wasting half of the paper, and while I've found a better and lower cost source for cardstock to use with my markers there is a part of me that has a problem with throwing away half of my supplies. I understand that Cameos waste more paper than the eClips, but SCAL3/SCAL4 wastes even more than Silhouette Studio and I can only get one image instead of the two that SS lets me cut in the same area.

_________________
My blog


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group