Can I partially cut out a shape.

bybelinda

Can I partially cut out a shape.

Post by bybelinda »

Hello

I'm extremely new to SCAL, my husbands iMac & my black cat cougar cutter. Nothing like a challenge! I've managed to make some designs but am having problems getting my machine to cut but that's another story.

Thanks to all of you who've posted stuff on here and You tube, I've learnt an incredible amount so far.

I'm trying to find a way how I can partially cut out a shape such as a flower, heart or butterfly? I'm trying to do it so I can fold part of the shape back on the card rather than cut it out completely, if this makes sense.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thank you Belinda
dragonlord666

Re: Can I partially cut out a shape.

Post by dragonlord666 »

Your dealer should be able to help you get cutting with the Cougar.

now, cutting part of an image.
what software are you using? just scal or do you also use inkscape or coreldraw etc

it will depend on how you want the finished item to look.
do you know of any "sample" pic on the net that show what you are trying to do. maybe then we can give you better options.

Gaz
Cutters: Phoenix Silver Bullet 18", Black Cat Cougar 18", Silhouette Cameo & Cameo 4
Software: SCAL 5 Pro, Inkscape, Gimp
Computer:IMac running Mojave
bybelinda

Post by bybelinda »

Hi Gaz

Thank you for answering me.

I've only tried SCAL at the moment, as last week was my first time at this, but I've got Inkscape as well. I'll try and find a picture of what I mean and have a look in Inkscape.

Belinda
dragonlord666

Post by dragonlord666 »

There are possibly multiple ways to do it (that's normal with the inkscape & scal LOL) but having a picture or very good idea when you want the finished item to look like will help us tell you the best way.

are you thinking of something like say a rectangle that "opens like a door"? but with other shapes not only a rectangle.

Gaz