what cutter to buy ?

Common questions/answers for new users
mrfibble

what cutter to buy ?

Post by mrfibble »

Hello :)

I have ZERO experience with cutters and SCAL and want to make decals for the cat resue that my wife helps with so they can raise funds to help the kitties :)

what would ( in your opinion ) be a good one to get that obviously works with SCAL

granted I know everyone has their favourite machine for whatever reason but as I know nothing at this point any help would be great

also is it worth the savings by buying a used cutter ?

thank you in advance

David C
TheresaTT

Re: what cutter to buy ?

Post by TheresaTT »

i have a uscutter SC series cutter that works with SCAL. actually you will get the pro software when odering your cutter. I love it. It is a 24" cutter.
Theresa
Windows 7, Scal 2.044( to use with my E ) , Expression, Inkscape 9, USCutter SC series cutter, Scal 4... Pro
regina_rhinestones

Post by regina_rhinestones »

mrfibble wrote:Hello :)

I have ZERO experience with cutters and SCAL and want to make decals for the cat resue that my wife helps with so they can raise funds to help the kitties :)

what would ( in your opinion ) be a good one to get that obviously works with SCAL

granted I know everyone has their favourite machine for whatever reason but as I know nothing at this point any help would be great

also is it worth the savings by buying a used cutter ?

thank you in advance

David C
If you ever want to cut chipboard, you may want a cutter that can handle cutting thick material. If you only want to cut cardstock, a simple cutter would be the say to go. You have to think about what you will want to use one for before buying one.

Here's a chart:

http://die-cutting-machines-review.toptenreviews.com/
mrfibble

Post by mrfibble »

cheers for the replies :)

it would be used for vinyl only ....

im probably going to go with this one "USCutter SC Series"
anyone used or have one ? thoughts ?

cheers

david c
ckiorio