Craft Edge

Sure Cuts A Lot Forum
It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:49 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:29 am
Posts: 2
There was an older post about getting SCAL4 to work with the Cricut which included several steps.
Here is an easier way. This will work with SCAL4 or 5 for Windows and SCAL4 for Mac

1. You need a copy of SCAL4 for Windows or Mac
http://www.craftedge.com/purchase/craftedge/purchase_scal4.php
or SCAL5 (32 bit version) for Windows (note: 32 bit version will run on both 32 and 64 bit version of Windows)
http://www.craftedge.com/purchase/craftedge/purchase_scal5.php

2. Download the 3rd party plugin for the Cricut
Windows
https://ufile.io/j58oi
or
https://ufile.io/mo1k7 *need to manually install keys

Mac
https://ufile.io/f19iz
or
https://ufile.io/1xd6b
or
https://ufile.io/7g5ii *need to manually install keys

3. After you install both SCAL and the Cricut plugin, start up SCAL, go to the Cutter menu and choose My Cutters and then Manage Cutters. Choose Cricut in the Company Company/Brand drop down list and then click the Add to list button.

You should now be able to cut with your legacy Cricut (Personal, Expression, Cake, Create). Please note this will not work with the Expression2, Mini, Explore, Maker). For the Explore or Maker models, you would just use SCAL4 or SCAL5 to do this http://www.craftedge.com/tutorials/designspace/designspace.php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:48 pm 

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:18 pm
Posts: 1
bluegrass wrote:
There was an older post about getting SCAL4 to work with the Cricut which included several steps.
Here is an easier way. This will work with SCAL4 or 5 for Windows and SCAL4 for Mac

1. You need a copy of SCAL4 for Windows or Mac
http://www.craftedge.com/purchase/craftedge/purchase_scal4.php
or SCAL5 (32 bit version) for Windows (note: 32 bit version will run on both 32 and 64 bit version of Windows)
http://www.craftedge.com/purchase/craftedge/purchase_scal5.php

2. Download the 3rd party plugin for the Cricut
Windows
https://ufile.io/j58oi
or
https://ufile.io/mo1k7 *need to manually install keys

Mac
https://ufile.io/f19iz
or
https://ufile.io/1xd6b
or
https://ufile.io/7g5ii *need to manually install keys

3. After you install both SCAL and the Cricut plugin, start up SCAL, go to the Cutter menu and choose My Cutters and then Manage Cutters. Choose Cricut in the Company Company/Brand drop down list and then click the Add to list button.

You should now be able to cut with your legacy Cricut (Personal, Expression, Cake, Create). Please note this will not work with the Expression2, Mini, Explore, Maker). For the Explore or Maker models, you would just use SCAL4 or SCAL5 to do this http://www.craftedge.com/tutorials/designspace/designspace.php

Quite long it took me to find solutions but thanks to you I now can use my Cricut. Highly appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:43 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:07 pm
Posts: 4
raingurl,

Did you have any problems?

I am trying to use the Cricut Personal Cutter and SCAL 4Pro, but can't get it to cut.

DId you do anything different?

tom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:17 am 

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 7:01 am
Posts: 634
Tom, if you haven't already tried this, go to Help>Install USB Driver and pick KNK because I know the older Cricuts use the same one. Then try. If it doesn't work, reboot your computer and try again. Post back if that makes a difference.

_________________
Sandy McCauley
Owner of http://www.iloveknk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:58 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:52 am
Posts: 13
I have an original expression and SCAL2, when I upgraded to SCAL5 I selected the 64bit version, does this mean I can't use it with my expression?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:31 pm 

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 7:01 am
Posts: 634
You can continue to use SCAL2 for cutting to your Cricut Expressions. A law suit by Provo Craft prevented new versions of SCAL (3, 4, 5) from working with Cricut cutters. However, SCAL 5 can be used for designing (and there are a LOT more features available now) and then, when you want to cut to your Cricut go to File>Send To and you can then have your new design sent to SCAL2 for cutting. Easy peasy! :)

_________________
Sandy McCauley
Owner of http://www.iloveknk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:02 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:52 am
Posts: 13
SandyMcC wrote:
You can continue to use SCAL2 for cutting to your Cricut Expressions. A law suit by Provo Craft prevented new versions of SCAL (3, 4, 5) from working with Cricut cutters. However, SCAL 5 can be used for designing (and there are a LOT more features available now) and then, when you want to cut to your Cricut go to File>Send To and you can then have your new design sent to SCAL2 for cutting. Easy peasy! :)



Thanks Sandy, I was hoping to go straight from SCAL5 to cut. I am not able to send the file to SCAL2 for some reason, I have a ticket open for that with Craft Edge at the moment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 9:44 am 

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 7:01 am
Posts: 634
You do need both versions open. I just tested and it's working for me. I'm on a Windows 10 laptop.

_________________
Sandy McCauley
Owner of http://www.iloveknk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:09 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:52 am
Posts: 13
SandyMcC wrote:
You do need both versions open. I just tested and it's working for me. I'm on a Windows 10 laptop.


I have both open, I send to SCAL2 from 5, go to SCAL2 and it's a blank page. But I installed the 64bit not 32bit so is that the problem do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:17 am 

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 7:01 am
Posts: 634
Try something VERY basic (pick a shape from the SCAL5 Library. Then make sure both its Fill color and Stroke color are set to black on the Fill & Stroke Panel. Then see if it works. I've running the 64 bit version and, again, it's working fine for me. So, maybe there's something about the file itself you're testing. Feel free to email the file to me and I can test it myself. Just use File>Save As to save the file and then email it to me at smccauley45@cox.net.

_________________
Sandy McCauley
Owner of http://www.iloveknk.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group