Using Layers in SCAL

janecristallo

Using Layers in SCAL

Post by janecristallo »

I am new to SCAL but I have been loving using it and learning. I was wondering if you can work with layers in SCAL to make a WORDBOOK. This way as you create each page with a letter you know exactly how to place it so the word is spelled out and evenly spaced.
lovebeingamom

Re: Using Layers in SCAL

Post by lovebeingamom »

I was wondering the same thing, can't wait to see an answer!
bands321

Post by bands321 »

From what I understand, you can not ... yet.

That is something that has been asked on the "Wishlist".

What I do is create my first letter, then save it as an INKSCAPE file first then SVG.. When I do my second letter I open the first INKSCAPE file, remove the letter, add two inches to it and then the next letter...then save it and continue.

HTH,
Shawn

**sorry I've been MIA, had a hysterectomy and still on bed rest...trying to type on pain meds is not a pretty picture :)
janecristallo

Post by janecristallo »

Thanks for your response. I will look into Inkscape. I haven't checked into that program yet. I am just learning SCAL this past week while I am recuperating from foot surgery! Speedy recovery!
raewyn64

Post by raewyn64 »

I made my using SCAL only using the same principal as Shawn did.
First I took the rectangle from shapes then welded the first letter against the side of the rectangle, cut it (remembering to tick the weld box on both the rectangle and letter) then after cutting I changed the letter to the next letter in my word and extended the rectangle by whatever the width of the first letter was. Weld and cut then repeat for all the letters. Sometimes it is best to work backwards starting with the last letter so you know you will have enough length (the maximum is just under 12 inches for the length of the cutting mat)

Hope that sort of makes sense.
Raewyn
papasue

Post by papasue »

I have a question.