There's got to be an easier way!

Tips, Tricks and Tutorials for using Sure Cuts A Lot
kirk6400

There's got to be an easier way!

Post by kirk6400 »

I'm a newbie to the cutting machine as well as to the SCAL software. I feel like I'm taking one step forward and two steps back and there's got to be an easier way. Let me explain what I'm trying to do.

I'm a quilter and I'm making a wall hanging for my church that measures 22w x 48h. I'm appliqueing words on the wall hanging in various sized words and in various fonts. I've attached a .jpg of the example I'm following to help you visualize. I've made one wall hanging by using WordArt in MS Publisher and I print the word in the size I want and if necessary paste pages together to make a small banner. Then I iron the adhesive medium to the fabric, and I then have to trace the word. Then I cut out the word so I can iron it to the wall hanging. A very labor intensive process.

Then a friend I saw recently talked about the Brother Scan N Cut machine and said how easy and much faster it be because it cuts on fabric. I've been eyeing it anyway for months but was hesitant because I wasn't sure what I could use it for as I'm not really a paper crafter. But I decided to go ahead and buy it and I figured I could find other uses in my quilting craft. I have now spent a good 4 days since I've purchased it trying to figure out how to get this thing to cut all of the various words I need and I'm about at a point where my old method is starting to look pretty easy compared to what I've been having to do to get the cutting file ready and preparing the fabric so it would stick to the cutting mat.