Creating SVG Files in Illustrator?

Tips, Tricks and Tutorials for using Sure Cuts A Lot
bethyrv

Creating SVG Files in Illustrator?

Post by bethyrv »

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new here, so maybe I just missed it...

I have a mac and have illustrator. I did create one svg file already but there were a few goofy things that it did. Just wondering if there are any tutorials/help for creating these files with Illustrator? I see a lot for inkscape, but I would love to use what I already have and am somewhat familiar with using.

Thanks!
Beth
talanhart

Re: Creating SVG Files in Illustrator?

Post by talanhart »

I have been using Illustrator for 12 years and I might be able to answer your questions. I am actually learning some new things when I create SVG files. I don't have a Cricut, but I am having fun creating files for other people to download.
Todd
fayscrapper

Post by fayscrapper »

I did not know use can use Illustrator instead of Inkscape.
SewnAgain

Post by SewnAgain »

Here's how I am doing them. I could be wrong, I've only been at this a short while. I'm using Adobe Illustrator 9.0

Have the layer visible that you want to cut. File...export...save as type .svg

I always have a reference one inch square on the drawing that's off to the side that is also cut out. That helps me with resizing the svg properly when I'm in Sure Cuts a Lot.

In Sure Cuts a Lot, I go File.. import SVG. Then I resize the svg using the sizing handle until the one inch square matches one of the one inch squares on the cutting mat. Then I preview, cut it out, and save the file.
VinAlly
Advertising tarps, repurposed
http://www.vinally.ca
susibi

Post by susibi »

to help with resizing in SCAL -
1. make your svg file in your usual program : Illustrator, Inkscape etc
2. if using metric change the measurements to inches
3. click on the file and read off the measurements
4. Open SCAL import your svg and insert the measurements into the width and height boxes , done